Skip to content

Collections and arrangements

April 24, 2015

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
I’ve been thinking a lot recently about collections recently. Not only physical collections of items but also collections of photographs of items. I have certain things that I’m obsessed with photographing, colours and textures and found arrangements.  I probably have hundreds (thousands?) of images of collections, which are just archived.

I went to the Cornelia Parker Lecture at the Whitworth Art Gallery yesterday and I found it really interesting to hear her speak of her own personal collections, and it got me thinking;

What turns a photograph of an obsession into something of importance?

For her it seems to be when it correlates with something she is trying to say, fitting in with the other themes of her work. I’m still pondering this in relation to my own work and I’m keen to go back through my archives to see if I can pick out the themes.

She also talked about Sculptural arrangements, something I’ve been taking great pleasure in experimenting in recently. Here are some collections and arrangements that I’ve recently photographed.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c2 presetP1110474Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Spot the found arrangement (If I’d have had time I would’ve gone back and re-photographed/ rearranged!)

Weekend creative challenge

Start a collection of objects – found, gathered or acquired. Photograph them in different arrangements and share them with me on instagram #arranging

Which arrangements do you like best and why? 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2015 1:30 pm

    Thank you for this post. I have recently been working on collages which I spend weeks arranging in various ways until they are just right. I must consider the process of arranging as part of the work. Perhaps I should be documenting the different configurations……hmmmmm.

    • April 25, 2015 2:02 pm

      Ooh yes, that’d be great to see. I’d never thought about documenting the process of collage. Sometimes my favourite arrangements have been when I just have bits lying around the studio and I’ve absent mindedly arranged them too.

Leave a Reply

