Skip to content

Ghostly silver birches

July 31, 2012

I went to Sweden last November. I was mesmerised by tall ghostly trees with thin silvery white trunks which almost glowed in the dusk.

I did some quick sketches, and have been working on a painting/collage inspired by them.

image

I did a quilt too, based on one of my sketches of the sky and trees.

image

image

I also want to experiment with a new colour pallete that reminds me of Sweden in the winter time. Shades of teal, soft muted yellows and browns. I think next I will do another textile piece of the silver birches and silvery moon.

image

I love how new places make you see the world in a totally different way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

