Skip to content

Reverb10 catch up!

December 12, 2010

I’ve been loving reading all of the posts from Reverb10, wishing I could join in and contemplating answering the prompts privately, and all the while harbouring a secret little blog and being too scared to write anything!

So, in the spirit of Reverb10, here’s my first post, and a catch up…………….

December 1: One Word – Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you? (Author: Gwen Bell

Well, my word for 2010 was explore.  I needed to have some no-pressure time to just experiment with stuff, try different things, read, see if what I was doing was actually what I wanted.  And I did!  I want to keep exploring though, and I think that’s the key, to keep learning and discovering, so that’s what I’m going to keep doing!

So, the word for 2011 – I think maybe passion?  I want to find out what makes me excited, and do more of it.  These things seem to have gotten hidden amongst the piles of shoulds, musts and obligations over the years, and now it’s time to de-clutter and get excited.  Yes!

December 2: Writing – What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

Hmmm, well I am going to substitute the word writing with ‘creating’ and the main thing that I do every day that doesn’t contribute is watching TV, it is very rare that I will watch something which will inspire me to create (though the BBC four doc about 60’s/70’s folk was one of those rare programmes) I mean I don’t watch it all of the time, and am pretty picky with what I watch but when I do switch it off and just read a book, or bake, or sew, I feel so much better!

Have been thinking about how to make this easy to eliminate, possibly more TV out of lounge and put into another room, where we only go to watch our favourite programmes?  Get rid of it completely?  Create a room which is a lovely, inspiring, creative haven?  I think the last one would be good for when we move – maybe for the minute I will try to switch off more.

I was also going to say surf the internet but since finding all the lovely blogs and things it’s been inspiring me to do more (apart from when I’m in avoidance mode) I guess the key with this is to just stay on for a limited amount of time, as too much time is draining and just leaves me feeling worse.

December 3: Moment – Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors). (Author: Ali Edwards)

The moment I felt most alive this year was the beginning of Autumn.  I think it maybe symbolised a fresh start, new job, getting rid of things I didn’t need and a sense of hope and promise.  That Autumn smell just got me, that fresh, slightly smoky air.  And the amazing colours of the leaves, I felt like it was the first time in my life I’d ever noticed!  Every leaf I saw seemed the most beautiful one I’d ever seen (resulting in me collecting a massive pile, which are still on the side in my kitchen!)  This feeling I would like to carry across other areas of my life, and really take the time to stop and take everything in.

December 4: Wonder – How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year? (Author: Jeffrey Davis)

I think I’m still trying to work this one out.  But thinking, exploring and examining everything, and trying to notice the little things are certainly a good place to start!

December 5: Let Go – What (or whom) did you let go of this year? Why? (Author: Alice Bradley)

This year I let go of my should’s and other peoples expectations.  Well, it’s a work in progress but I think I finally realised that it’s my life and I can do what I want, more than that, I have to do what I want.   Been also working on the idea that everything doesn’t have to be perfect, being a beginner is fine, nobody starts out perfect at anything, and in fact, it’s the imperfections that sometimes make things interesting and exciting, and mistakes can often turn out to be the best thing that could happen.  Just need to keep telling myself this!

December 6: Make – What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it? (Author: Gretchen Rubin)

I am currently sewing a christmas pressie for a special someone, which is fun, but a bit confusing at times.  I want to sew an entire new wardrobe!  So yes, I guess I’ll need to make some time for that!  Next sew is a party dress for christmas and new year, out of purple crushed velvet, yey!  I also would like a sewing room, maybe that can be in my creative room when I move.

December 7: Community Prompt – Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011? (Author: Cali Harris)

Offline: Sewing club – it’s great to find people with the same interests in my area, would love to develop some of these relationships in 2011, another I’d love to connect with would be a creative/ like minded community in my area,  maybe going to open mic nights and such will help that one.  Online, there  are a few blogs I’ve been totally lurking on, and I’d love to connect with more people, get over the fear that no one cares what I say.

December 8: Beautifully Different – Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author: Karen Walrond)

Ooh the uncomfortable question.  Why is it so easy to know these things about others but not yourself?   I guess the things that make me different are my unique view of the world, and my ability to empathise and create and maybe my oddness and humour?

December 9: Party – What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans. (Author: Shauna Reid)

My socks weren’t really rocked off by any social gathering, but I did realise what I don’t like to do any more, my thing for 2011 will be small cosy gatherings, with lovely people and lovely food and drink.  This year I enjoyed going for a meal, then to a lovely pub, people hanging out round my house and palying music, pop up restaurant talking to creative lovely people and eating yummy food.  Camping with friends and chatting.  Then the occasional crazy night, with good music and good people – Rubalad was a particluar highlight, we need some of those here!

December 10:  Wisdom – What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out? (Author: Susannah Conway)

I think my wisest decision was not to panic after being made redundant and take a full time job.  Knowing that where I need to be is not there and making a choice not to bow down to pressure.   It paid off as I found a job which was a great match, 3 days, great people and will give me time to work on the other stuff (whatever that may be) I know what I need, no one else.

(Updated the below in June 2011 as I wrote notes and want to get it down here and throw notes away, for my sanity! Forgot to note the author though  – Sorry about that)

December 11:  11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011

1. Negative people

2. Clutter

3. Stress

4.Pressure

5. Excessive amounts of food

6. Shyness (though I will change that to not judging self in social situations

7. Self Doubt

8. Lack of confidence

9. Intertia of my body and mind

10. Fear

December 13: Action : getting over the fear of action

Experiment with new approachs

That’s it, new June Reverb response coming soon(ish, maybe!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

